Rep. Tim Meadows (D) apologies for his DWI arrest

State Rep. Tim Meadows, (D) Imperial, is apologizing to his family and constituents for a DWI arrest.

Capt. Ralph Brown, with the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Department, says Meadows was arrested early Saturday morning after after a traffic stop on Imperial Main Street near Interstate 55. Meadows was booked into the Jefferson County jail on suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated. The charges will be forwarded to the Jefferson County Prosecuting Attorney on Monday morning.

Rep. Meadows released the following statement to NewsChannel 5 Sunday afternoon.

“Late Friday evening I was arrested in Imperial on suspicion of driving while intoxicated. I am deeply sorry this incident occurred and sincerely apologize to my family and to my constituents. This has never happened in the past, and it certainly won’t happen again in the future. As this case in now a matter for the judicial system, my attorney has advised me to make no further comment at this time.”

And the race in District 101 suddenly opens wide up.

Driving while intoxicated is inexcusable. I’ve lost friends and family members to drunk drivers. While all are equal before the law, it’s especially inexcusable when a community leader who serves on the House Committee on Crime Prevention, the House Committee on Public Safety, and the House Committee on Transportation, like Rep. Meadows, does it.

I hope Meadows has learned his lesson. No family needs to suffer a loss or injury – be it his own or another’s – because of poor choices and preventable consequences.