A Year Later

Photo courtesy of Kenny Bahr

That’s me above hugging my good friend and fellow patriot Jim Hoft of Gateway Pundit. I began blogging in 2001, anonymously, because I wrote about conservative politics and I didn’t know any other conservatives online. When I came across Jim’s blog he used his name fearlessly and inspired me to come out from behind the curtain and do the same.

Tonight he organized a fantastic rally. I know there were others involved with its organization, but I know Jim footed the bill for the permits from his own pocket and covered all the bases. We sold some tea party shirts and tried to help offset his cost.

Some people write hateful things about these folks, Hoft, Bill Hennessy, Jon Burns, Gina Loudon, Adam Sharp, and others, but those people don’t know them like I know them; in fact, they don’t know them at all. People committed to the cause of truly empowering people by freeing them from being under the thumb of government, that’s what they are.

It’s been a very long, but energizing, day.

A year ago we all assembled in Keiner Plaza. It was unreal. This anniversary marks the difficult transition from protesting to action. County police said that 1,800-2,000 patriots filled Memorial Park in Clayton. I met people tonight, several of who said that they were inspired to get more involved and thus joined up with several conservative campaigns. I met some people who had donated to funding the suit against health control, www.healthcareinaction.com. Many have awakened from a long slumber. It is a wonderful thing to behold.

Thank you to all who came out today and those who also came out to Hair Saloon for Men. Tt was a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for standing with us, rain or shine.

I’m going to leave you with some of James Kirk’s beautiful and intriguing images. He was kind enough to share his great shots with us:

James Kirk photo

James Kirk photo

James Kirk photo

James Kirk photo

James Kirk photo

From Keyboard Militia:


More of Keyboard Militia’s great photos:

Adam Sharp. Keyboard Militia photo

Stephanie Rubach. Keyboard Militia photo

Bill Hennessy. Keyboard Militia photo

Keyboard Militia photo

Jay Stewart. Keyboard Militia photo

See the rest of Keyboard Militia’s photos HERE.