St. Louis Townhall Tea Party protest

Thank you for continuing on the journey with us. We had 2-300 that stood strong with us today. We stood for fiscal responsibility, plain and simple. There was a small group of counter-protesters and a few fabulous individuals who cussed at me and flipped off me and my children which provided a wonderful teaching moment for the car ride back home, let me tell you.

townhall1 townhall2 townhall3

(Yes, that’s one of my boys.) Our presence outside finally forced President Obama to acknowledge the unrest. He had this to say from inside as we were standing outside:

“Those of you who are watching certain news channels on which I’m not very popular, and you see folks waving tea bags around, Obama said, “let me just remind them that I am happy to have a serious conversation about how we are going to cut our health care costs down over the long term, how we are going to stabilize Social Security.”

That’s what we have been advocating: having a serious discussion about why economic policies which have failed in Russia, China, Spain, Romania, et al. If the president is genuine about having this conversation then I welcome it. If he’s serious, that is, or just posturing.

More of the St. Louis Tea Party Coalition’s protest outside the townhall meeting here and here.